MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact MyMPS

Daily Activities / Lessons Quarter 2

***** END OF QUARTER  2 *****

Wednesday Jan 24 -  Semester 1 Final Exam - There are no retakes for this test.  FINAL1 - SOH CAH TOA   FINAL2 - Applications of Trigonometry.  Check the portal for results on Friday Jan 26

Tuesday January 23  U3 D24 - SNOW DAY - We did not have school today.  A shortened version of the final exam will be given to all class periods on Wednesday.

Monday January 22  U3 D24 - Warm-up: Angle of Depression, Law of Sines, Special Right Triangles.  Lesson:  Organizing your notes.  Finishing Notes for Finals Part 3.   Classwork:  Trigonometry Review for the FINAL. ANSWERS to the Trigonometry Review for the FINAL   Slides from class.

Friday January 19  U3 D23 - Warm-up: Pythagorean Theorem, Law of Sines.  Notes: Review for FINALS Part 3 - Triangle Review.   Slides from class

Thursday January 18  U3 D22 - Warm-up: Congruent triangles, area of an isosceles triangle.  Finishing HW#14 - questions and answers.  Classwork:  How can you tell which rule to use?  Slides from class.

Wednesday January 17  U3 D21 - Warm-up:Completing a triangle using the Law of Cosines and the Law of Sines.  Finishing Unit 3 Notes 8 - Finding a missing angle using the Law of Cosines.  Homework:  HW#14 p643 / 1,3,4,6 + Review - due Friday Jan 19.  Slides from class.

Tuesday January 16  U3 D20 - Warm-up: Finding a missing angle using the Law of Sines.  Finishing Unit 3 Notes 7 - Solving word problems using the Law of Sines.  Homework #13 - word problems, questions, answers. Lesson:  Unit 3 Notes 8 - Finding a missing side using the Law of CosinesDid you miss class today?  Watch this video on the Law of Cosines from Yaymath.    Slides from class.

Friday January 12  U3 D19 - Warm-up: Finding the area of a triangle using SAS area conjecture, finding the missing angle of a right triangle using SOH CAH TOA.  Lesson:  Unit 3 Notes 7 - The Law of Sines.  Homework:  HW#13 p654 / 5 - 11, 13 - due Wednesday Jan 17. Did you miss class? Watch this Video on the Law of Sines from Khan Academy.   Slides from class.

Thursday January 11  U3 D18 - Warm-up: Finding the area of an obtuse triangle given SAS. Unit 3 Notes 6 continued - Multi-step Trig Problems continued.  Homework #12 questions, hints.  Classwork: SAS Area Conjecture.  Slides from class.

Wednesday January 10  U3 D17 - Warm-up: World's Tallest Tree.  Lesson: Unit 3 Notes 6  Multi - step Trig Problems - finding the area.  Homework:  HW#12 Applying Trig Ratios - due Friday Jan 12.  Slides from class.

Tuesday January 09  U3 D16 - Warm-up: Problem Solving with Trigonometry.  Unit 3 Notes 5 continued.  Homework #11 - questions, answers, and diagrams.  Slides from class.

Monday January 08  U3 D15 - Mr. Sudo was out sick today.  Students worked on a warm-up: using inverse sine, cosine, and tangent.  Started working on Unit 3 Notes 5 - Problem Solving using Trigonometry.  Homework HW#11 p628/ 1-5, 7-13 - due Wednesday Jan 10. Slides from class.

 ****  W I N T E R   B R E A K ****   See you in January *****

Friday December 22 U3 D14 - Warm-up: Sine, Cosine, and Tangent. Inverse Trig functions.  HW #10 questions and answers.  Slides from class.

Thursday December 21 U3 D13 - Warm- up: SOH CAH TOA.  HW#10 questiona, hints and answers.   Lesson: Unit 3 Notes 4 continued - using inverse trigonometry functions to find missing angle measures.  Slides from class.  

Wednesday December 20 U3 D12 - Warm- up: Finding Sine, Cosine, Tangent.  Lesson:  Units 3 Notes 4 - SOH CAH TOA.  Homework:  HW#10 p624 / 1 - 22 - due Friday Dec 22.  Slides from class.

Tuesday December 19 - TEST - Quiz 3A - Similar Triangles.  Quiz 3B - AA, SSS, and SAS similarity conjectures.  Students who missed this test should make arrangements with Mr. Sudo to make it up after school .

Monday December 18 U3 D11 - Warm- up: Review for Similarity Test.  Classwork: intro to Trigonometry.  Slides from class. 

Solutions to Practice Quiz 3A 3B

Friday December 13 U3 D10 - Warm- up  Overlapping Similar Triangles.  Classwork: Unit 3 Similarity Practice Test 3A, 3B.  SOLUTIONS to Practice Test 3A, 3B.  Slides from class.

Thursday December 13 U3 D09 - Warm-up: Proportional Parts vs Overlapping Triangles.  Unit 3 Notes 3 continued - Mirror Method, Shadow Method.  Homework:  HW#9 p582 / 1 - 5 + more problems - due Monday Dec 18.  Slides from class.

Wednesday December 13 U3 D08 - Warm-up: AA shortcut for similarity.  HW#8 questions, hints and answers.   Unit 3 Notes 3 - Proportional Parts.  Slides from class.

Tuesday December 12 U3 D07 - Warm-up: AA shortcut for similarity  Classwork: Overlapping right triangles and the AA rule.  Homework :  HW#8 p574 / 1 - 10, 13, 15 - due Thursday Dec 14.  Slides from class.

Monday December 11 U3 D06 - Warm-up: Problem Solving with Proportions.  Unit 3 Notes 2 - the AA, SSS, and SAS similarity conjectures.  Slides from class.

Friday December 7 U3 D05 - Warm-up: Similar Triangles, solving proportions.  Unit 3 Notes 1 continued - Similar Triangles.  Homework :  HW#7 ws Probs 1 - 4 + p568 / 9 - 14 - due Tuesday Dec 12.  Slides from class.

Thursday December 6 U3 D04 - Warm-up: Understanding Ratios, solving proportions wih algebra.  Classwork :  Intro to similar triangles.  Slides from class.

Wednesday December 6 U3 D03 - Warm-up: Problem Solving with Proportions  Unit 3 Notes 1 - Proportions   Homework: HW#6 p561 / 1 - 16 - due Friday Dec 8.  Slides from class.

Did you miss class this week?  Go to the video page.

Tuesday December 5 U3 D02 - Warm-up: Ratios and Proportion.  Lesson : Proportions and scale factor.  Homework: BYD#2 - Problem Solving with Proportions - due Tuesday Dec 12. Watch the VIDEO on Solving Word Problems with Proportions.   Slides from class.

Monday December 4 TEST Quiz 2A - The Pythagorean Theorem  Quiz2B  - Special Right Triangles (45-45-90) and (30-60-90)   Quiz 2C - Coordinate Geometry. Students who missed this test should make arrangements to make it up after school.   

Friday December 1 U3 D01 - Warm-up: Review for Quiz 2A,2B, and 2C.  Finishing Practice Quiz Part 2.  Solutions to Practice Quiz Parts 1 and 2.  Slides from class.

Thursday November 30 U2 D32 - Warm-up: Pythagorean Theorem, Word Problem strategies.   Classwork:  Practice Quiz 2A, 2B, and 2C PART 2.  Slides from class.

Wednesday November 29 U2 D31 - Warm-up: Special Triangles - area and point on a circle.  Classwork:  Practice Quiz 2A, 2B, and 2C PART 1.  Slides from class.

Tuesday November 28 U2 D30 - Warm-up: Special Triangles and the distance formula.  Unit 2 Notes 12 continued.  Homework: HW#5 - Distance in Coordinate Geometry - due Thursday November 30.  Slides from class.

Monday November 27 U2 D29 - Warm-up: Areas of special triangles. Homework #4 questions and answers.  Unit 2 Notes 12 continued - the Distance Formula.  Slides from class.

 ****  Thanksgiving Break ******

Tuesday November 21 U2 D28 - Warm-up: Areas of equilateral triangles.  Unit 2 Notes 12 continued - Coordinate Graphs and the Pythagorean Theorem.  Homework:  HW#4 p482 / 1,2,4,5,8,9,10,13,14 - due Tuesday Nov 28.  Slides from class.

Monday November 20 U2 D27 - Warm-up: Special Right Triangles.  Homework #3 questions and answers.  Lesson:  Unit 2 Notes 12 - Coordinate Graphs and the Pythagorean Theorem.  Slides from class.

Friday November 17 U2 D26 - Warm-up: Special right triangles, introduction to the 30-60-90 triangle.  Leson: Unit 2 Notes 11 continued - 30-60-90 triangle.  Homework :   HW#3 p447/ 1 - 11, 15, 16, 17, 21 - due Tuesday Nov 21. (Did you miss class? Watch this VIDEO on 30 - 60 - 90 triangles form Yaymath).  Slides from class.     

Thursday November 16 U2 D25 - Warm-up: Pythagorean Theorem, Isosceles Right Triangles.  HW#2 questions and answers.  Lesson:  Unit 2 Notes 11 - Special Right Triangles 45 - 45 - 90 and 30 - 60 - 90.  (Did you miss class?  Watch this VIDEO on 45 - 45 - 90  triangles from Yaymath)  Slides from class

Wednesday November 15 U2 D24 - Warm-up: Multiplying expressions with square roots, the Pythagorean Theorem.  Lesson:  Unit 2 Notes 10 continued.  Homework :  HW#2 p465 / 1 - 6, 10 - 20 - due Friday November 17.  (Did you miss class?  Watch this VIDEO on the Pythagorean Theorem from YayMath). Slides from class.

Tuesday November 14  - TEST - Quiz 1A - Congruent Triangles  Quiz 1B - Triangle Proofs  Quiz 1C - Square Roots.  Students who missed this test should make arrangements to make it up after school sometime in the next two weeks.

Monday November 13 U2 D23 - Warm-up: Review for Quiz 1A, 1B, and 1C.  Lesson:  Unit 2 Notes 10 - Using the Pythagorean Theorem.  Slides from class.

Friday November 10 U2 D22 - Warm-up: Triangle Proofs.  Practice Test for Quiz 1A, 1B, and 1C.   Solutions to Practice Test.  Slides from class.

Thursday November 9 U2 D21 - Warm-up: Triangle Proofs.  Simplifying square roots.  Lesson:  Unit 2 Notes 9 - Square Roots continued - multiplying expressions with square roots. Familiar Factors (factor cheat sheet)  Slides from class.

Wednesday November 8 U2 D20 - Warm-up: What is wrong with this proof?  Square roots and perfect squares.  Lesson:  Unit 2 Notes 9 - Square Roots.  Assignment:  BYD#1 - Simplifying Square Roots - due Tuesday Nov 14.  Missed today's class? : Youtube video : Simplifying Square Roots.   Youtube video: Multiplying numbers in Square Root Form.  Slides from class.  

Tuesday November 7 U2 D19 - Warm-up: Flowchart Proof, What is a square root?  HW#1 questions and answers.  Activity :  Square Roots in Geometry.  Slides from class.

Monday November 6 U2 D18 - Warm-up: Triangle Proof with CPCTC.  Results of Triangle Proof Check up. Unit 2 Notes 6 continued - Flowchart Proofs.  Homework - HW#1 - Proofs using CPCTC - due Wednesday Nov 8.  Slides from class.

 

Lessons carried over from Quarter 1- 

Unit 2 Notes 6 - CPCTC and Flowchart Proofs.  

Unit 2 Notes 5 - How to write Two Column Proofs.