MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
Quarter 3 Weekly Game Plan

Monday, Jan 28: Intro to Macbeth

Tuesday, Jan 29: Intro to Macbeth and 1.1

Wednesday, Jan 30: 1.2-1.3 (Witches!)

Thursday, Jan 31: 1.4-1.5 (introduce Lady Macbeth)

Friday, Feb 1: 1.6-1.7 (Gender roles)

Weekly Presentation Week 1

Monday, Feb 4:

Tuesday, Feb 5:

Wednesday, Feb 6:

Thursday, Feb 7:

Friday, Feb 8:

 

Monday, Feb 11:

Tuesday, Feb 12:

Wednesday, Feb 13:

Thursday, Feb 14:

Friday, Feb 15:

 

Monday, Feb 18: President's Day - No School

Tuesday, Feb 19: Project Success

Wednesday, Feb 20: Snow day - no school

Thursday, Feb 21: 3.1-3.3

Friday, Feb 22: Graffiti Journal

 

Monday, Feb 25: 3.4-3.6

Tuesday, Feb 26: 4.1-4.2

Wednesday, Feb 27: 4.3

Thursday, Feb 28: Act 5

Friday, March 1: Final Discussion

4.3 Activity

Weekly Presentation

FInal SID Discussion Questions

Monday, March 4: Introduction to Essay

Tuesday, March 5: Essay Outlining

Wednesday, March 6: Essay Writing

Thursday, March 7: Movie

Friday, March 8: Movie

 

Essay Outline

Essay Soliloquy Options

 

Essay Grading Rubric 

Monday, March 11:Movie (DeJong Out)

Tuesday, March 12: Intro to Presentation

Wednesday, March 13: Presentation Workday

Thursday, March 14: Presentation Workday

Friday, March 15:Presentation Workday

 

Monday, March 18:

Tuesday, March 19:

Wednesday, March 20:

Thursday, March 21:

Friday, March 22:

Presentation Rubric 

Presentation Instructions

Proposal Form

Monday March 25:

Tuesday, March 26:

Wednesday, March 27:

Thursday, March 28:

Friday, March 29:

 

SPRING BREAK! :)

 

 

Quarter 2 Weekly Game Plan (2018-19)

 

Mon,  Nov 5: My Life Skills with College and Career

Tues, Nov 6: Persuasive Techniques - Ethos, Pathos, Logos

Wed, Nov 7: Persuasive Speeches in Advertisements Presentations

Thurs, Nov 8: C-CC-R practice - TED Talks

Fri, Nov 9: Billboard Poster

Weekly Presentation

Billboard Assignment

TEDTalk Sheet

Mon, Nov 12: Intro to C-CC-R

Tues, Nov 13: Silly Speeches

Wed, Nov 14: Intro to Debate

Thurs, Nov 15: Debate Prep

Fri, Nov 16: Project Success

Weekly Presentation

Debate Topics - Ethics Quiz Bowl

Ethics Debates Instructions

Mon, Nov 19: Debate #1

Tues, Nov 20: Debate #2

Wed, Nov 21: NO SCHOOL

Thurs, Nov 22: NO SCHOOL

Fri, Nov 23: NO SCHOOL

 

Mon, Nov 26: Intro to Speech - and Analysis

Tues, Nov 27: Analysis #2. Speech Prep.

Wed, Nov 28: Speech Prep

Thurs, Nov 29: Speech Prep

Fri, Nov 30: Speech Prep

Speech Overview

Speech Organizer

Speech Proposal

Mon, Dec 3: Speech Prep

Tues, Dec 4: Speech Prep

Wed, Dec 5: Speeches!

Thurs, Dec 6: Speeches!

Fri, Dec 7: Speeches! Washburn Survey.

Select Student Survey

- Enter birthday, ID

Mon, Dec 10:

Tues, Dec 11:

Wed, Dec 12:

Thurs, Dec 13:

Fri, Dec 14:

 

Mon, Dec 17: Guest Speakers

Tues, Dec 18: Intro to Lit Theory

Wed, Dec 19: Lit Theory Practice

Thurs, Dec 20: Book Discussion #1

Fri, Dec 21: Friday Fun Day

Feminist Lens

Marxist Lens

Postcolonial Lens

Reader Response Lens

Archetypal Lens

Formalist Lens

WINTER BREAK (DECEMBER 22 - JANUARY 4)  

Mon, Jan 7: Book Reading Guide

Tues, Jan 8: Reading Day!

Wed, Jan 9: Discussion Prep

Thurs, Jan 10: Shared Inquiry Discussion

Fri, Jan 11: Poetry Day

Reading Guide

Mon, Jan 14:

Tues, Jan 15:

Wed, Jan 16:

Thurs, Jan 17:

Fri, Jan 18:

 

Mon, Jan 21:

Tues, Jan 22:

Wed, Jan 23:

NO SCHOOL THURS and FRI

 
   

 

Quarter 1 Weekly Game Plan

 

Date:

Agenda: Materials:
August 27 - August 31

Mon, Aug 27: First Day Activites

Tues, Aug 28: 5 Stations and Classroom Bingo

Wed, Aug 29: Review Expectations, Stress Wall

Thurs, Aug 30: Review Summer Reading, Begin "Most Dangerous Game" (Due: Tues, Sept 4)

Fri, Aug 31: Summer Reading Benchmark Essay. Due: end of class on turnitin.com

Week 1 Presentation

Handout: "Most Dangerous Game" pdf

Handout: Annotation Guide

Handout: Summer Reading Benchmark Essay

 

September 3 - September 7

Mon, Sept 3: NO SCHOOL

Tues, Sept 4: QUIZ: "Most Dangerous Game." Questions of morality.

Wed, Sept 5: Creative writing: suspense story

Thurs, Sept 6: Suspense writing techniques in MDG

Fri, Sept 7:Disney Literary Devices

Week 2 Presentation

Handout: "Most Dangerous Game" pdf

Quiz #1: Click here.
 
 
Suspense in MDG handout
 
 
Disney Lit Devices Sheet
September 10 - September 14

Mon, Sept 10: Read Tell Tale Heart. Plot Diagram.

Tues, Sept 11: Paragraph writing.

Wed, Sept 12: Choice reading and Popp Quizzes.

Thurs, Sept 13: SID prep

Fri, Sept 14: SID #1

Weekly Slideshow Presentation
September 17 - September 21

Mon, Sept 17: Irony groups

Tues, Sept 18:Discussion Prep

Wed, Sept 19: Quiz 2, Discussion / paragraph

Thurs, Sept 20 Quiz 3, Discussion / paragraph

Fri, Sept 21: Project Success

Week 4 Presentation

Irony group: 3rd hour

Irony group: 4th hour

Shared Inquiry Discussion Sheet

Quiz 2: Hop Frog 

Quiz 2: How to Date (alternative for 3rd hour)

Quiz 3: The Veldt

September 24 - September 28

Mon Sept 24: Lamb to the Slaughter and Irony

Tues Sept 25: The Landlady and Characterization

Wed Sept 26: Prepare for Discussion

Thurs Sept 27: QUIZ #4  Discussion and Creative Writing

Friday Sept 26: Shared Inquiry Discussion and Creative Wrting

Week 5 Presentation

Lamb to the Slaughter Irony Handout

The Landlady characterization Handout

Effective Body Paragraph

Quiz 4: Dahl and O'Henry

Creative Writing #2 Instructions

October 1 - October 5

Mon, Oct 1: Bibi Haldar

Tues, Oct 2: Fiesta, 1980

Wed, Oct 3: Three poems

Thurs, Oct 4: Discussion Prep

Fri, Oct 5: Discussion. QUIZ

Ableism and Sexism in India article

Week 6 Reading Guides

Quiz 5: Haldar, Fiesta, Where, Poems

October 8 - October 12

Mon, Oct 8: Intro to LA Paper

Tues, Oct 9: Thesis Statement work. Thesis statement Due!

Wed, Oct 10: Outline workday

Thurs, Oct 11: Outline workday. Outline due!

Fri, Oct 12: Project Success

Weekly Presentation

Outline Template - make a copy in your own drives.

Grading Rubric

Paper Instructions and Overview

October 15 - October 19

Mon, Oct 15: First Draft Workday

Tues, Oct 16: First Draft Workday. First draft due!

NO SCHOOL WED - FRIDAY

Weekly Presentation

MLA Formatting Guideline

October 22 - October 26

Mon, Oct 22: Review essay feedback.

Tues, Oct 23:  Peer Review. 

Wed, Oct 24:  Grammar focus - MLA format. Conferences and workday.

Thurs, Oct 25: Grammar focus - common mistakes. Conferences and workday.

Fri, Oct 26: Conferences and workday. Final draft due end of class.

 
October 29 - November 2

Mon, Oct 29: Get Out - plus sheet

Tues, Oct 30: Get Out - plus sheet

Wed, Oct 31: Get Out - Final Assessment.

NO SCHOOL THURS-FRI