MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
Beukema, Hinz, Schmit and Vasich Honored

MPS Logo

Congratulations to Washburn teachers Melissa Beukema, Nancy Hinz, Jim Schmit, and Molly Vasich, who will be honored on May 8 at the second annual Celebration of Teachers! Thank you for your dedication to your students and for representing Washburn!

From: Office of Communications
Date: May 4, 2015

MPS and MFT to Honor 105 Educators
We are pleased to share that 105 educators will be honored May 8 at the second annual Celebration of Teachers, presented by Minneapolis Public Schools (MPS) and the Minneapolis Federation of Teachers (MFT). This annual celebration recognizes educators for making a significant impact on students and student achievement. All MPS teachers were invited to nominate colleagues who demonstrate exceptional growth with students and have practices and strategies that could help others. The event is made possible with generous support from The Minneapolis Foundation.
MPS is home to talented, passionate teachers who are driven to help students succeed. It is an honor to recognize these teachers for their continued dedication to student excellence and success in raising academic achievement in our schools. Our teachers come to school every day prepared to ignite a love of learning in every student they serve. This celebration is one way we can thank our educators for their committed service to the children and families of Minneapolis.
Congratulations to our educators! 
Michael Goar, Interim Superintendent       Lynn Nordgren, President, MFT