MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
Ebba Nordstrom Takes 2nd Place in State Poetry Out Loud

Poetry Out Loud

Congratulations to Ebba Nordstrom who took 2nd place in the state Poetry Out Loud competition on March 11, 2021! Her performance was terrific and showed months of hard work.  She will receive a cash prize and a trophy.  The school will also receive a check for $200 to spend on enhancing poetry and Poetry Out Loud in our school. State champs two years in a row for Washburn. Whoo-hoo!!!!!

Ebba Nordstrom won the conference Poetry Out Loud competition in February which qualified her for state. Congratulations also to Olivia Samaha and Leo Kocher who along with Ebba were the three Washburn High School finalists and represented Washburn at the regionals. The following Washburn semifinalists also made outstanding performances: Ava Vischer, Cecelia Percy, Elliana Loesch, Kasbaye Couch, Marcella Slade, Marcus Williams, Paige Selberg, Veronica Brown, Xander Kleckner, and Zara Huntington. All of these students are 10th graders from Mr. Rice's and Ms. Mulvaney’s English classes.  View photos on Facebook

The state champion will be announced on Thursday, March 11 and that person will compete in the national competition this spring. Washburn's Yahanna Mackbee won the 2020 Minnesota State Poetry Out Loud contest.
Congratulations to state finalists:
Ella Grimm, Marshall School
Rachel Kropp, Wabasha-Kellogg High School
Sophie Kuether, Columbia Heights High School
Danquyen Le, Columbia Heights High School
Lorelai Lewis, Mayo High School
Ebba Nordstrom, Washburn High School
Greta Olsen, Community Christian School
Hanna Olson, Eastview High School
Matthew Scribner, Marshall School
Emma Vogt, Big Lake High School